Prinknash Abbey

August 20, 2009

Choir___Sanctuary_2008Just returned from a retreat at Prinknash Abbey. There is so much I want to say but what I really want to say is GO TO PRINKNASH. The monks of Prinknash follow the Rule of St Benedict. It is a very special place and they have recently returned to their old monastery which actually belonged to the Abbot of Gloucester prior to the reformation. But listen I could talk for ages about this place but you really have to go and visit.

2 Responses to “Prinknash Abbey”

  1. Louise said

    Stumbling across your blog, I have found a great sense of peace within your writing, and it has deepened my interest in monastic life. I have been planning on visiting one for a while and would like to thank you for such encouraging feedback. However, part of me questions why you are not further involved in the monstic life yourself, being so dedicated to the ways of St. Benedict.?

    • saobenedito said

      Thank you so much for your response. I have a long connection with St Benedict. My earliest childhood memory is of being at Prinknash, my home parish was Benedictine and indeed Benedict is my confirmation name! I tried my vocation at Downside Abbey for two years but felt that teaching was the stronger call. I am currently seeking to become a Benedictine Oblate within the World Community for Christian Meditation, a group well worth getting to know.

Leave a Reply

